retur til forside
Permission notes IX

Saiho-ji - see Kokedera

Sambo-in (often also spelled: Sanpo-in /Sampo-in)

Sambo-in is a subtemple of Daigo-ji. Daigo-ji was founded in 1115, and has preserved some old structures till today. Sambo-in was only built in 1598 by initiative of Hideyoshi, and its garden and architectural interiors are a lavish demonstration of the boldness and grandeur of Momoyama architecture. After the opening of new Tozai subway, Sambo-in is easily accessed. Shingon Buddhism.

Sambo-in is open to the general public, but photographing is not permitted.

Sambo-in, 22 Higashioji-cho, Daigo, Fushimi-ku, 601-13 Kyoto

Tel.: (075) 571 0002
Fax: (075) 572 3939

Sanjusangen-do *

Sanjusangen-do was founded in 1164. And its name, literally 33 bays, refers to the extreme length. It is said to be the longest wooden structure in the world. Inside the long hall you meet a Kannon figure flanked by 1.000 smaller standing statues. In the periphery of the theme of our study tour, we even then included it, as we on the second-last day had time left to enter. And standing face to face with the thousand sculptures of Sanjusangen-do certainly is a profound esoteric experience. Tendai Buddhism.

Sanjusangen-do is generally open to the public. Photographing is not permitted.

Sanjusangen-do, 657 Mawari-cho, Sanjusangendo, Higashiyama-ku, 605 Kyoto

Tel.: (075) 525 0033
Fax: (075) 561 6698


Sanzen-in traces its history back to Saicho (767-822) who brought Tendai Buddhism to Japan. But the eldest extant structure of Sanzen-in standing in the upper garden, dates from approximately 985. The upper garden has a Paradise motif, the lower garden is a later pond and pruned azalea garden. Sanzen-in is located in Ohara, a village just north of Kyoto. Ohara is extremely crowded during the time of the autumn colours, but other times of the year Ohara can be a nice relief from the crowds of the city. A few hundred metre from Sanzen-in, you find Hosen-in, a subtemple of Shorin-in (see Hosen-in). Tendai Buddhism.

Sanzen-in is generally open to the public.

Sanzen-in, 540 Raigoin-cho, Ohara, Sakyo-ku, 601-12 Kyoto

Tel.: (075) 744 2531
Fax: (075) 744 2480

URL: (only in Japanese)

Sento Gosho *

Sento Gosho is one of the best examples of the Edo stroll park. It is ascribed to the architect, tea master and garden designer Kobori Enshu (1579-1647). The spatial arrangement of the garden is very well done. The tea houses Seika-tei and Yushin-tei are less impressive and testify to the fact that with the introduction of sukiya architecture, the risk of making bad architecture rose tremendously.

A visit to Sento Gosho takes special permission. See Katsura Rikyu for details.

Sento Gosho, Kyoto gyoen nai, Kyoto Gosho, Kamigyo-ku, 602 Kyoto


Shikunshi-en is an outstanding example of modern sukiya architecture, designed by Sutejiro Kitamura and Isoya Yoshida in 1944 and 1963.

Shikunshi-en is located mext to the Kitamura Museum and is not generally open to the public. When we called in the spring, we were informed that next tour would only be in the autumn. Typically there will be special openings for one week in late April and late october.

Shikunshi-en, 488 Kajii-cho, Kawaramachi-dori Imadegawa kugaru higashi-iru, Kamigyo-ku, 602 Kyoto

Tel.: (075) 256 0632 (Kitamura Museum in front of Kitamura-tei)
Fax: (075) 256 2478

Shinju-an *

Shinju-an is a subtemple of Daitoku-ji. It was founded in 1491 as memorial temple of the Zen master Ikkyu Sojun (1394-1481). Through the centuries, Shinju-an has undergone several changes, but it survives as an outstanding example of the Muromachi temple architecture, and the only temple still having its Muromachi fusuma in place. The east garden of Murata Shuko (1422-1502) survives from the founding of the temple. In 1638 a wing from the Muromachi Imperial Palace, Tsusen-in was re-erected here and a small tea pavilion, Teigyoku-ken by tea master Kanamori Sowa (1584-1656) was added. A visit to Shinju-an is a profound experience of an unspoiled totality. Rinzai Zen Buddhism.

Shinju-an is not open to the general public. Application should be made on a return postcard. No fixed entrance fees, but for a group including students, a donation of 1.000 yen per person might be appropriate, unless there is asked for special services. Photography not permitted.

Shinju-an, Daitokuji-cho, Murasakino, Kita-ku, 603 Kyoto

Tel. & fax: (075) 492 4991

Shisen-do *

Shisen-do was established in 1641 as the retirement place of Ishikawa Jozan (1583-1672). Entering the temple is a striking spatial experience. Shisen-do is among the better examples of architecture with sukiya characteristics, and even though the garden for the moment being suffers from the passing away of several of the trees crucial to the garden composition, going there is still a rewarding experience. From 1716 a Shingon Buddhist priest resided here, and from 1743 it has been a Zen temple.

Shisen-do is generally open to the public.

Shisen-do, 27 Banchi, Monguchi-cho, Ichijoji, Sakyo-ku, 606-8154 Kyoto

Tel.: (075) 781 2954

Shugaku-in *

Shugaku-in Rikyu is the country estate of Emperor Gomizunoo. It was established in the years 1656-59 at the foot of Hiei-san, Kyoto's protecting mountain. Shugaku-in has three parts, a lower, middle and upper villa, laid out as small garden islands between rice fields. In Shugaku-in you meet remarkable sukiya structures and landscape gardening with shakkei on grand scale. So Shugaku-in is a highly recommended experience.

A visit to Shugaku-in Rikyu takes special permission. See Katsura Rikyu for details.

Shugaku-in Rikyu, Yabuzoe, Shugakuin-cho, Sakyo-ku, 606 Kyoto


Sumiya is a remarkable entertainment complex dating from 1641. Its lavishly decorated interiors are if not beautiful, then interesting, and exposes the decorative vein of early Edo period.

Recently Sumiya was opened the general public as the Motenashi Museum of Culture. But this only includes the 1st floor. Reservations may be made for admission to the outstanding exteriors of 2nd Floor. Admission to the 2nd Floor only is not possible.

Sumiya, Ageya-cho, Nishi Shinyashiki, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600

Tel.: (075) 221-2187
Fax: (075) 221-2267


retur til Japanske Rum forside

Continue to Kyoto, places to visit, T-Z (10 of 11).